The Viaduct, Midford c.1870
A panoramic photograph by J. & J. Dutton, photographers, Bath. Through the second arch on the right can be seen the original wooden bridge carrying Twinhoe Lane over the canal. This bridge only lasted for a few years after the opening of the S&D in 1874. In 1880 the S&D Railway Committee . . . received a request to improve the wooden bridge on the road across the canal. The original bridge restricted passage of all but the lightest of traffic and the railway Company was informed that an iron replacement would cost å£500. The local Highway Board refused to take over the maintenance of either bridge or roadway unless the former was rebuilt! This photo also pre-dates the building of the railway signal box and possibly the station buildings. One of a series of fascinating early panoramic views of Bath from the 1860s.