The patched up Assembly Rooms after the wartime bombing and fire, 1942
© This image is not to be copied or published without permission
A fascinating photograph that shows the rendering and tiles added to the top of the exposed wall to provide short term protection prior to the anticipated lengthly and costly restoration, after the war is over. This work was undertaken by Mowbray Green. The fully restored Assembly Rooms did not reopen until 1963.
K24 / 1
Original Width (mm)
Original Height (mm)
Bath Central Library