The demolition of the Bath Royal Literary & Scientific Institute, Terrace Walk 1932
© This image is not to be copied or published without permission
The Egremont Hotel on York Street, overlooking the newly-vacant site at Terrace Walk. Part of a fascinating record of the removal of one of Bath's notable buildings which was formerly the Lower Assembly Rooms, as part of a road improvement scheme. This area is now known colloquially as 'Bog Island' after the underground public lavatories which were a feature of this space until the 1970s. They were replaced by the Island Club, a nightclub owned by Bath rugby captain Roger Spurrell; this too is now long closed and the 'island' is today graced by the Pieroni fountain.
Original Width (mm)
Original Height (mm)
Bath Central Library