Junction of the London Road and the Bradford Road, Bathford 1853
© This image is not to be copied or published without permission
Copy of an early calotype print by the Rev. Francis Lockey dated 5th May 1853. This predates the electric tram. The Quaker burial ground wall can be seen to the right. The Rev. Francis Lockey lived in Swainswick and between 1849 and 1861, photographed Bath and the surrounding area, using the calotype process. This unique record is amongst the earliest surviving photographic collections of the area.
Artist / Photographer
Z1 / Bathford 13
Original Width (mm)
Original Height (mm)
Bath Central Library