Entitled Miss M's Cottage, this would appear to refer to Miss Julia Milward who lived there for many years. The house is now known as Stonewalls. The Rev. Francis Lockey lived in Swainswick and between 1849 and 1861, photographed Bath and the surrounding area, using the calotype process. This unique record is amongst the earliest surviving photographic collections of the area.
© This image is not to be copied or published without permission