Rustic Stone Arch within the Grounds of Lilliput Castle, Lansdown, Bath 1760
© This image is not to be copied or published without permission
The sketchbook contains at least 5 views of Jeremiah Peirce's (1696-1765) house and garden. Peirce was a surgeon at the Bath General Hospital (Royal Mineral Water Hospital) and he owned Lilliput Castle, a villa on the slopes of Lansdown, designed by John Wood the Elder (1704-1754) in 1738. This rustic stone archway was in the grounds of Lilliput Castle and the view through the archway to the open country was later obscured by the development of Lilliput to create Battlefields. This sketch probably dates to 1760, when Robins undertook a number of drawings at this location. The rustic stone arch would have provided a stunning eye catcher and fashionable garden feature. Note the garden roller to the left of the arch. Inscribed No.13. From a collection of 45 sketches of Bath by Thomas Robins the Elder (1716-1770). By kind permission of V&A Images.
Artist / Photographer
Original Width (mm)
Original Height (mm)
V & A Museum